LL-C Yesteryears Sept. 30- Oct. 6

You must login to view this post.

'; //} ?>

By Dale McKee

LL-C sports writer

Sept. 30, 1967

Jerry Hinton scored twice as Northwest Jones clipped Poplarville, 18-13. Keith Temple, Billy Brownlee and Ronnie Williams rushed for touchdowns as Northeast Jones blanked SE Lauderdale, 27-0. Reggie Shoemake also passed to Rennie Cagle for a score. Doug Connor ran 6 yards for a score, and Lamar McGilberry ran back a punt 60 yards for a TD to lead Roosevelt over Quitman, 14-0. Ronnie Watts, Henry Carter and George McGilberry were also praised for their outstanding play. Jimmy Whatley and Donald Cooley scored in leading Beat Four over Oak Grove, 35-0.

Oct. 1, 1977

Donald Ray King and Ron Harper scored as South Jones clipped Magee, 13-6. David Walley tossed two touchdown passes as NEJ whipped Quitman, 13-9. Walley hit Franklin Keyes and Ronald Davis for scores. West Jones steamrolled SE Lauderdale, 60-0, and Moss Point blanked Laurel, 14-0.


Oct. 1, 1987

Laurel’s Michael Howard and West Jones running back Fred Chapman were chosen Laurel Leader-Call Players of the Week. Howard kicked a 41-yard field goal with 13 seconds to play to lead LHS over South Natchez, 10-7. Chapman ran for 106 yards and scored on a 21-yard run leading WJ over Petal, 33-0.


Oct. 2, 1967

Steve Bailey scored twice, and Glen “Mouse” Freeman returned a punt 91 yards to lead the Bobcats over Hinds, 33-0. David Abercombie also hit Richard Thoms on a 20-yard pass play for a score.


Oct. 3, 1967

Dale Keyes scored four times in leading Laurel over Meridian in junior varsity action, 34-12.


Oct. 4, 1997

West Jones won their first game of the year, 19-16 over Quitman. Daniel Evans and Jerome Crosby ran for touchdowns, while Clifton Pittman hit Mark Barron for a score. Rashard Phillips scored three times, and Shawn Todd scored twice as South Jones remained undefeated with a 41-20 win over Mendenhall.


Oct. 5, 1957 

Calhoun blanked Moselle, 32-0, as George L. Gibson scored on a 20-yard run of a blocked punt and later scored on a 20-yard run. Jerry Laird returned a punt 70 yards for a score and also ran 15 yards for six points. Clifton Lowe ran 15 yards for a TD. Soso used runs by Carlos Collins and Billy Daniels to blank Sandersville, 13-0. Bobby “Chico” Jordan ran 43 yards for a score and hit James “Sail” McRae on a 25-yard pass as Oak Park downed Jim Hill, 12-6. Laurel lost to Biloxi, 40-0.


Oct. 5, 1987

Jay Hassell won the 10-and-under Junior Fall Circuit Tennis tournament in Hattiesburg. Christi Butts placed second with Rebecca Jefcoat finishing third. Peggy Hood was chosen homecoming queen at South Jones, and Michael James was chosen king. Darla Bush, Beverley Wilson, Debbie Strickland and Sandra Williamson were homecoming maids.


Oct. 6, 2007

Chris Moncivias blocked a West Jones extra-point attempt as NE Jones nipped the Mustangs, 7-6. DyDreicko Woullard scored the Tigers’ TD and Shawn Myrick added the extra point. Chase Headrick scored for WJ. Chucky Nichols ran for 125 yards, and Eric Shelby added 107 yards as NEJ remained undefeated. Laurel romped over Raymond, 41-6, as Kendrick Kennedy scored on two runs while Akeem Davis tossed TD passes to Raphael Pollard and Clifton Pollock. Ladarious Portis also returned an interception 75 yards for another six points.

Chris Smith recovered two fumbles, and Micah Green hit five conversion kicks. South Jones lost, 42-41, to Quitman after trailing, 35-14, earlier in the game. Brett Bailey tossed a TD pass to Avery Phillips and ran for a score. Desmond Bolton, Travis King and Travis Jackson ran for scores.